Stay.

It’s the moment when you slip off your shoes
Meaning you’re here to stay,
if not forever at least for awhile
The flickering images serenading us
from their black box
Our mindless chatter about this and that
This moment isn’t special or unique
It isn’t going to be memorable
You’ve already forgotten I’m sure
But it was in that moment when I realized
It’s with you that I feel secure
In your arms I can drift away
to the place where dreams live
That was when I knew, I knew I had to try
I discovered you meant so much
even more than I thought
That was the moment I realized
I was already yours and you had to be mine
I’m giving you this muscle pulsing with insecurity
Throbbing with doubt and past hurts
This organ responsible for the blood
flowing through my veins
Please be careful, it’s as important to me as you.

Leave a Reply

