Leather

I can’t show any sympathy
You can’t hide your apathy
All I can remember is that night
We dressed in leather
You pretended to be mine
For the benefit of a nameless musician
I thought it was all pretend
That you were at my side for show
But I’d feel your eyes on me
The way you would check where I was
A subtle display of how much you cared
The bassist remains nameless
My leather jacket sits on a hanger
Hoping for more nights shared with you
My eyes wait for another moment
The moment when they catch yours
They’ll be waiting for too long.

Leave a Reply

